Lombok is an island in West Nusa Tenggara province, Indonesia. It forms part of the chain of the Lesser Sunda Islands, with the Lombok Strait separating it from Bali to the west and the Alas Strait between it and Sumbawa to the east. It is roughly circular, with a “tail” (Sekotong Peninsula) to the southwest, about 70 kilometres (43 miles) across and a total area of about 4,514 square kilometres (1,743 square miles). The provincial capital and largest city on the island is Mataram.

LocationSoutheast Asia
Coordinates8.565°S 116.351°E
ArchipelagoLesser Sunda Islands
Area4,514.11 km2(1,742.91 sq mi)
Highest elevation3,726 m (12,224 ft)
Highest pointRinjani
ProvinceWest Nusa Tenggara
Largest settlementMataram(pop. 420,941)
Population3,311,044 (2014)
Pop. density733.5 /km2(1,899.8 /sq mi)
Ethnic groupsSasak, Balinese, Mbojo, Tionghoa-peranakan, Sumbawa people, Flores people, Arab Indonesian

This iland is somewhat similar in size and density, and shares some cultural heritage with the neighboring island of Bali to the west. However, it is administratively part of West Nusa Tenggara, along with the larger and more sparsely populated island of Sumbawa to the east. this island is surrounded by a number of smaller islands locally called Gili.

The island is home to some 3.35 million Indonesians as recorded in the decennial 2014 census.

List of islands

this island is surrounded by many islets, including:

  • Northwest: colloquially the Gili Islands (North Regency)
    • Gili Trawangan
    • Gili Meno
    • Gili Air
  • Northeast (East Lombok Regency)
    • Gili Lawang
    • Gili Sulat
    • Gili Petagan
    • Gili Bidara (Pasaran)
    • Gili Lampu
    • Gili Puyu
    • Gili Kondo
    • East Coast of Nusa Tenggara
    • Gili Puyuh
    • Gili Sulat
  • Southeast (East Lombok Regency)
    • Gili Indah
    • Gili Merengke
    • Gili Belek
    • Gili Ular
  • South Coast (West Lombok Regency)
    • Gili Solet
    • Gili Sarang Burung
    • Gili Kawu
    • Gili Puyuh
  • Southwest (Sekotong Peninsula, West Lombok Regency)
    • Gili Nanggu
    • Gili Sudak
    • Gili Tangkong
    • Gili Kedis
    • Gili Poh
    • Gili Genting
    • Gili Lontar
    • Gili Layar
    • Gili Amben
    • Gili Gede
    • Gili Anyaran
    • Gili Layar
    • Gili Asahan
× Have a question?